J-Pop Write-Up

The vocal aesthetics of Ayumi Hamasaki

Posted on: October 9, 2010

If there’s any J-Pop idol that I respect in terms of professionalism, it’s Ayumi Hamasaki. She is a brand in and of herself, and has sustained a career for longer than any other “idol.” Needless to say, Ayumi Hamasaki is among the greatest figures in J-Pop today. My introduction to Ayumi Hamasaki came at the age of 10. Ayu-chan’s 1997 single, “Depend on You,” was one of the first J-Pop songs I heard, since it was included in the Atlus game, “Thousand Arms”. As a boy, I fell in love with her style, presence and uniqueness. In particular, there’s just something really appealing about her voice, which, like fellow songstress Utada Hikaru, is completely original. It’s instantly recognizable; you listen to her songs and think, “oh, that’s Ayu-chan, for sure!” But, what elements distinguish Ayu-chan from other J-Pop singers?

Where Utada Hikaru’s voice is quavering and emotive (a beautiful aesthetic also), Hamasaki’s is powerful and resonant. Her vibrato is extremely wide and slow, and she’s selective about which notes, and when, she vibrates. It’s not uncommon to listen to an entire passage and only hear her vibrate on one or two notes. In my opinion, Hamasaki started the stereotypical idol trend of infrequent, wide vibrato, but she really is the master of this technique.

Hamasaki sings mostly from the throat. I understand that this is a completely un-American approach to singing, and also can be damaging to the vocal chords. Because she tenses her throat, she is able to create a type of vocal portato between notes (disconnected, yet articulated repeated notes). Her articulation is also very clear, because of the amount of pressure it requires to overcome the tensing of the throat. This strain is a part of her vocal aesthetic, and the bukkari (girlish) style in general. Of course, her diction is also fabulous. Every syllable is distinct and perfectly intelligible, even to a gaijin like me.

Part of the distinguishing elements of Ayu-chan’s voice is also its flaws. She sings, at times, painfully flat. I’m aware that this may be due to her partial deafness. But sometimes the flatness of her voice is off-puttingly low, almost a half-step flat for entire passages. I imagine this is due to her vocal straining, artificially pushing her notes flat. And, compared to the virtuosic range of American singers like Mariah Carey, Ayu-chan’s range is fairly limited. Because of the tense quality of her voice, her highs make me wince a little bit. Think: Alvin and the Chipmunks… But, this is just a part of the “Ayu package.” Her power is impressive, but, without employing the classical style, it comes at some costs.

Despite its flaws, Ayumi Hamasaki’s voice is a crucial element to her success. Without it, she wouldn’t be “Ayumi Hamasaki: The Product”. Reading and listening to her interviews, I think she’s aware of her stance in the larger scheme of the Japanese music industry, and takes it very seriously. She really hasn’t stepped outside of her idiosyncratic style. If anything, her latest chart-topping singles seem to resurrect her 1998/1999 sound, and to great avail. I expect that Ayumi will always be the Ayumi that everyone (well, almost everyone) knows and loves.

6 Responses to "The vocal aesthetics of Ayumi Hamasaki"

hello

I have read this article tonight 12 Oct.

You do know AyumiHamasaki more than me.

Crttainly she is an idol before Seiko-chan.

I have been surprised to hear of her singging style this time.

She is singging by throat,right?

You have a good talent of music.

Hang in there.

See you at Lang-8^^

Bye

shuichi

Thank you for the comment, Shuichi-san! I do believe that her style is with a tighter throat, but it’s impossible to say for sure. It’s just a different style compared to American singers. But, I like it! 🙂

See you later!

First of all, all styles of singing require the diaphragm, not the throat. This is not an american thing. That is the standard way of learning singing. I’ve heard Japanese singers sing properly (from Opera to Pop). Ayumi is one of those singers who don’t know how to use their voice properly.

Hey Temple!

Thanks for your comment!!

I agree with you about diaphragm support. In that instance, I was attempting to discern what is known in Japanese as “uragoe” (head voice) and “jigoe” (body voice). I meant that Ayumi Hamasaki employs more “jigoe” style to her performance.

As for your poignant reference to a broader topic in culture, artists each have their own approaches to one of the most visceral acts in music: singing. Do we mask our “true” voices with heavy vocoder effects? Which school do we ascribe to? Classical training? Pop training? Certainly, we unknowingly (or intentionally, perhaps) answer these questions as we sing. I think properness ultimately depends on the culture that creates it.

But, of course, I know what you’re saying! Ayu-chan’s voice is not everyone’s cup of tea! haha

Thanks again!

Thank you for your in-depth analysis of Ayu’s voice. I have an assignment to assess different singers’ vocal techniques (for vocal class), and your assessment sheds new light into my own analysis.

I do believe that Ayu mostly uses her chest voice. Her head voice is too “shrieky” for most people. Despite the potential of damaging her throat and whatnot, I think Ayu is still a much better singer than many American “singers” who can’t even perform live (I’m an American, so nothing discriminatory there). I’ve seen her performing live while crying and she could still perform beautifully. And I agree that Ayu’s music is an acquired taste 🙂

I don’t really like the nasality of the artificial voice Ayumi uses on her records, especially the early ones before the vibrato started. Often, she’ll strain her voice singing live, so that songs later in her set have a beautiful clear, piercing rasp to them. I LOVE that voice on her. A lot of people call Ayu’s voice powerful, but I believe it’s thinly powerful, if powerful at all. I disagree with you on her resonance. I find her voice very shallow and unresonant. Her high “ii” notes are piercingly reedy. Songs like “To Be” sound much better live to my ear, the recorded version is SO nasal and mousy sounding.

I agree that her voice is distinct and that she enunciates well. The throatiness of her voice lends a cutting quality that allows her to be clearly heard above even the most crowded mixes, but she never has that rounded, full resonant sound of classically trained singers. Her pitch is generally on melodically, but like you said, instead of missing one or two notes here or there, she’ll sing an entire passage about 25 cents flat or sharp. It’s like she’s a robot that’s been detuned! XD Besides the sometimes off-putting slow vibrato she’s finally starting to use more sparingly, another quirk to her voice is that she very rarely sings in head voice. I’d go as far as saying she doesn’t really have a proper head voice. This isn’t good because she really strains to hit the high notes in some of the songs of her first few albums. No wonder she never sings Kanariya live! She goes so high in her cutesy chipmunk voice in that song, the timbre in the bridge sounds like it’s been pitch-corrected, but I don’t think it has been.

Ayu also uses way too many glottal stops to separate her diphthongs or long-vowel swing riffs. She’ll chop it up like “ima’a-a” instead of bending “imaaa” for example. Ayu really can inject a lot of emotion into some songs however, such as the “Maria” part in “M”. Overall, the voice she chooses to sing in is too irritating to me for me to love her as an artist, though her songs are usually fairly well written and produced. Her “Crea” era productions prove she could have a lucrative career in song composition if nothing else. Still, I hope she has a lot more career ahead of her.

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Bren: I don't really like the nasality of the artificial voice Ayumi uses on her records, especially the early ones before the vibrato started. Often, she'
  • くろいね: dont be negative! vote for miku if you hate her dont tell me cuz i love vocaloid. i mean if she does or dosent sing i honestly wouldent care but since
  • Vocaloid Rocks!!!!! XD lol: ummm just saying, I saw a couple of comment saying that she is not real or she can't express her feelings or she doesn't have any talent, well how bou

Categories